Advice needed on first carpet cleaning equipment

Discussion in 'Carpet Cleaning' started by Jason G, May 27, 2016.

1. Jason G

Jason G FatCat Noob

Hi guys,
    I'm Jason. I'm brand new to the cleaning industry.
    I'll be purchasing cleaning equipments for my cleaning company soon and I need some advices.

I've done some research on youtube and come across rotovac.

I have a few questions:
    1: Is the $2995 a good starter package? Does it include what I need for an office and residential deep carpet cleaning?

2: I saw a lot of companies hookup the big extractor onto their vans. My question is, am I able to bring the extractor to the client's place, hook up to their power and water supply instead of hook it up onto a van?

3: I realised that the rotovac might be too big to clean the carpet on stairs. What do you guys use for stairs?

Thank you everybody!
    Jason

2. fencerider

fencerider Entrepreneur

3. TheEyeball

TheEyeball Friend of the Ladies

Name:
    Ross Trittipo
    I don't have any clue what's in the starter package so I have no idea if it's a good deal.

Either get a truckmount or a real portable, not that CFX thing Rotovac sells. Get a 360i if it's in your budget. If not, don't worry about it. Use a regular ol' wand or a stair tool on stairs. Or a furniture tool. And make sure you actually know what you're doing before you go out and take money from customers.

4. freemind

freemind Syndicated FatCat Entreprenuer

If this is the package from rotovac I am thinking of, there are better ways to get a "package" to start cleaning. The ranger or whatever they call their carry around extractor doesn't have the best "suck" from all I have heard in the past. The rotary is good, but that's where it ends.

I bought my portable through excellent supply. I bought a TruckPort portable with a 1000 PSI pump. I can do tile or carpet with mine. Auto fill, auto pump out, and a chem meter for rinse agents.

Keep looking, IMO.

5. Jeffrey Tobian